The President nominates 12 members of the Rajya Sabha according to

Answer : D


Rajya Sabha is a permanent body and is not subject to dissolution. However, one third of the members retire every second year, and are replaced by newly elected members. Each member is elected for a term of six years. The Vice President of India is the ex-officio Chairman of Rajya Sabha.

Which of the following is not an essential qualification for appointment as a Governor ?

Answer : B


The Governor of a State shall be appointed by the President by warrant under his hand and seal (Article 155). A person to be eligible for appointment as Governor should be citizen of India and has complete age of 35 years (Article 157).

Chief Ministers of all the states are ex-officio members of the

Answer : C


The Inter-State Council is a non-permanent constitutional body set up by a presidential order on the basis of provisions in Article 263 of the Constitution of India. The body was formed by a presidential order dated 28 May 1990 on recommendation of Sarkaria Commission.